UK Dairy Day - Tickets on sale NOW

Balmoral Show

Visit the website -

Ballyginniff herd claims dairy honours at Balmoral Show

Holstein NI chairman, John Patterson, received an early 50th birthday surprise when he scooped the supreme Holstein honours and the interbreed dairy championship at last week’s Balmoral Show.


Claiming the Patterson family’s first-ever Balmoral Holstein championship was the home-bred Ballyginniff Jasper Whiterose VG89 (3yr). This Wilcoxview Jasper daughter is bred from Ballyginniff Leduc Whiterose, and gave over 10,000 kilos in her second lactation. She calved eight weeks ago and is currently giving 58 kilos daily.


Judge, Edward Griffiths, who runs the 150-cow Coachgate herd based at Gunthwaite Hall Farm, Penistone, Sheffield, described the Holstein champion as a stunning cow. “This is exactly the type of cow I was looking for. She has a lovely udder and I really admire everything about her.”

Interbreed judge, Duncan Hunter, Haresfoot Farm, Berkhampsted, had no hesitation in picking the Holstein leader as the interbreed dairy champion of champions at the 2010 show. “


John Patterson, and sons, James and Andrew, run the noted 120-cow Ballyginniff herd on the shores of Lough Neagh near Crumlin, County Antrim. Ballyginniff Jasper Whiterose is no stranger to show success, having won the reserve championship at last year’s IHFA Spring Fair in Kilkenny. She also won the interbreed dairy and supreme champion of champions award at last year’s Omagh Show; followed by the Semex NI Dairy Cow of the Year award at Enniskillen Show.


The reserve Holstein champion at Balmoral Show was Hilltara Jordan Tury EX93, a fourth calver brought out by Sam McCormick, and son, John, from Bangor, County Down. Sired by Roylane Jordan, she is out of the home-bred Hilltara Leduc Tury GP.  The judge said:”This is a great mature cow, and she moves very well.” The 250-cow Hilltara herd was established in 1985 and is recognised as one of the leading herds in Northern Ireland, having won the premier section of the herd competition in 2008 and 2009. Hilltara Jordan Tury EX93 was the best overall cow and best overall exhibitor-bred cow in the 2009 herd competition.


The junior championship went to the home-bred Glasson Shottle Martina, a first calver brought out by the father and son team of Phillip and Simon Haffey, Portadown. Sired by Picston Shottle, she is out of the EX93 Glasson Martina. “This is a lovely heifer and an easy winner,” added the judge.

Sam McCormick also claimed the reserve junior championship award with the second prize winning first calver, Hilltara Damion Maude 5.


“It has been a pleasure to judge the Holstein classes at Balmoral Show,” said Edward Griffiths. “The hospitality has been wonderful, and it has been a really good show.” The black and whites took the reserve spot in the interbreed pairs competition, and claimed top honours in the interbreed group competition at Balmoral Show.  The winning trio included breed champion, Ballyginniff Jasper Whiterose, reserve champion, Hilltara Jordan Tury, and the honourable mention prize winner, Clarkestown Duplex Dellia, owned by Lady Dufferin of Clandeboye Estate, Bangor. Interbreed judge, Duncan Hunter said:”I really admired the power and strength throughout the group. All three cows have tremendous depth and openness of rib, coupled with fantastic udders and great bone quality. This is a very desirable group of Holstein cows. “


Holstein NI won the award for the best breed presentation. This competition is based on the presentation of cattle, and the cleanliness and tidiness of stalls and passageways in the cattle hall.


Heifer, under two-years-old

1, T  Henry and Sons’ Ultimo Redliner Fern Red

2, David McClurg’s Fortvale September Victoria


Cow, in-calf not less than five months

1, Clandeboye Estates’ Clandeboye MJ Phoebe

2, Phillip and Simon Haffey’s Joylan Durham Glora

3, David McClurg’s Leithhill Saucy Scarlet Red


Heifer, in-milk, born on or after 1/11/07

1, Wilson Patton’s Newtownards, Ards Toystory C Ruth

2, Sam McCormick’s Hilltara Bolton Maude


Heifer, in-milk, born on or before 31/10/07

1, Phillip and Simon Haffey’s Glasson Shottle Martina

2, Sam McCormick’s Hilltara Damion Maude

3, Wilson Patton’s Ards Bolton Lou Ella


Cow, in-milk, having had two calvings  

1, Clandeboye Estates’ Clarkestown Duplex Dellia

2, Sam McCormick’s Hilltara Damion Maude

3, Trevor Keatley’s Aghyaran Allen Lauramie


Cow, in-milk, having had three calvings

1, John Patterson and Sons’ Ballyginniff Jasper Whiterose

2, Sam McCormick’s Hilltara Champion Echo

3, Sam McCormick’s Hilltara Jordan Maude 3


Cow, in-milk, having had four or more calvings

1, Sam McCormick’s Hilltara Jordan Tury

2, Wallace Gregg’s Frocess Leader Agnes

3, Sam McCormick’s Hilltara Gibson Edwina 2


Cow, which has given a certified production of not less than 50 tonnes of milk

1, Sam McCormick’s Hilltara Mtoto Dawn

2, Clandeboye Estates’ Clandeboye SG Amanda


Group of three, property of exhibitor

1, Sam McCormick

2, Clandeboye Estates



Trophy winners

Crystal Memento for the supreme interbreed dairy champion of the show: John Patterson and Sons.

The Dalgety Dairy Perpetual Challenge Cup, for the best group of three in the interbreed dairy championship: John Patterson and Sons, Sam McCormick and Clandeboye Estates.

John Thompson and Sons Ltd Perpetual Challenge Cup, for the supreme champion: John Patterson and Sons. Reserve: Sam McCormick.

The Holstein Friesian Perpetual Challenge Cup, for the best Holstein: John Patterson and Sons.

Holstein UK championship award, for the owner of the best Holstein: John Patterson and Sons.

The Craigbet Rosan Perpetual Challenge Cup, for the winner of the production class: Sam McCormick.

Holstein UK rosette for the best uddered animal: John Patterson and Sons.

Holstein UK rosette for the best exhibitor-bred animal: John Patterson and Sons.

The RJ Cooper Memorial Trophy, for the junior champion: Phillip and Simon Haffey. Reserve: Sam McCormick.

Barbican Crystal Award, for the best group of three animals, bred by exhibitor: Sam McCormick.




  • Balmoral 2010